Akila Dananjaya, Lahiru Kumara named in Sri Lanka’s final squad for ICC T20World Cup

Binura Fernando, Lahiru Kumara and Akila Dhananjaya have been included in Sri Lanka’s 15-man squad for the forthcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2021. In the initial squad announced, the trio was named as reserves that were to fly with the squad to the United Arab Emirates.

Kamindu Mendis, Praveen Jayawickrama, Ashen Bandara, Nuwan Pradeep, Minod Bhanuka, Ramesh Mendis and Lakshan Sandakan have failed to find a place in the final squad. Pulina Tharanga is another player to miss out in the final T20 squad.

In the recent tour to Oman, pacer Lahiru Kumara bowled exceedingly well and claimed two wickets in two innings at an average of 8.33. Besides Kumara, opener Avishka Fernando also showed excellent form with the bat and finished the T20I series as leading run-scorer in the competition. In two matches played, Avishka Fernando has accumulated 116 runs at a strike rate of 150.65.

The selectors have gone for the experienced players like Kusal Perera, Dinesh Chandimal and Dhananjaya de Silva for the showpiece event to be played in the United Arab Emirates and Oman.

The notable absentees from the final are Kusal Mendis, Danushka Gunathilaka and Niroshan Dickwella, who were suspended for one year after violating the covid-19 protocols during the tour of England earlier this summer. Sri Lanka will begin their campaign when they take on Namibia on 18th October in Abu Dhabi. On 20th October, Sri Lanka will take on Ireland at Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

Sri Lanka’s final game in the round 1 of the competition will be against Netherlands at Sharjah Cricket Stadium on 22nd October.

Sri Lanka’s Final Squad for ICC T20 World Cup: Dasun Shanaka (captain), Dhananjaya de Silva (vice-captain), Avishka Fernando, Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Perera, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dinesh Chandimal, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Chamika Karunaratne, Lahiru Kumara, Dushmantha Chameera, Binura Fernando, Akila Dhananjaya, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *