All-rounder Mosaddek Hossain included in Bangladesh squad for the first Test against Sri Lanka

All-rounder Mosaddek Hossain has made a comeback to the Bangladesh’s Test squad for the opening game of the series against Sri Lanka. The 26-year old has been included in Bangladesh’s squad for the series opener against Sri Lanka.

The home side have suffered a huge setback as Mehidy Hasan Miraaz is ruled out of the opening Test against Sri Lanka. Nayeem Hasan has been named as a replacement for Mehidy Hasan in Bangladesh’s Test squad. Mosaddek Hossain has been included in the Test squad in order to provide batting depth to the home side. Earlier, Hossain has played in the ODI and T20 format for Bangladesh.

Bangladesh Chief Selector, Habibul Bashar, said that all-rounder Mosaddek hasn’t played much red-ball cricket due to injury. He said that all-rounder didn’t play in Bangladesh Cricket League and National Cricket League. In order to have another bowling option, who can value with the bat, Mosaddek Hossain has been named in the Bangladesh’s Test squad for Sri Lanka series.

Mosaddek Hossain has played three Test matches for Bangladesh till now. In September 2019, the 26-year old made his last appearance for Bangladesh against Afghanistan in a Test match played at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Cricket Stadium in Chattogram. Recently, he showed excellent form with the bat and ball in Bangabandhu Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League, which is the premier List a competition in the country. He played for Abahani Limited and scored 658 runs. He picked up sixteen wickets in 15 matches played for Abahani Limited.

The two-match Test series between Bangladesh and Sri Lanka is the part of the 2021-2023 ICC World Test Championship. The opening game of the Test series will be played at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram from 15th May. The second and final game will be played at Shere- Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka on 23rd May.

Squad: Mominul Haque  (Captain), Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal Khan, Liton Das, Mosaddek Hossain, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Nurul Hasan, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Ebadot Hossain Chowdhury, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Taijul Islam, Nayeem Hasan, Shohidul Islam, Shoriful Islam (subject to fitness), Rejaur Rahman Raja.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.