Australia name Warner and Smith in World Cup squad, Handscomb misses out

Australia have announced their 15-member squad for the 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup that will begin from 30th May in England.

David Warner and Steve Smith make their return to the national side after being suspended for 12 months by Cricket Australia due to their involvement in spot-fixing in South Africa.

The duo is currently playing in the ongoing Indian Premier League and completed their 12-month ban in March. Australia will certainly be pleased with the form of Warner, who has been in scintillating form in the Indian Premier League.

On the other hand, Steve Smith has shown decent form with the bat for Rajasthan Royals in the Indian Premier League.

The notable absentee from the squad is middle-order Peter Handscomb, who played exceedingly well for Australia in the past few months. He scored 479 runs in 12 innings at an average of 43.54 and was certainly instrumental in helping Australia win the one-day series in India.

Australia named star players Davis Warner and Steve Smith in their 2019 World Cup squad, middle-order Peter Handscomb and Pace bowler Josh Hazlewood were among those left out.

Pace bowler Josh Hazlewood also will not be part of Australia’s World Cup squad. The bowler suffered from a back injury in January and was going through process of rehabilitation in order to regain full fitness for the World Cup.

Opening batsman Usman Khuwaja scored heavily for Australia in the one-day series played in India. In 2019, Khuwaja has topped the batting charts for Australia in limited-overs cricket with 769 runs at an average of 59.15.

Wicket-keeper Alex Carey will be first-choice keeper for this year’s Cricket World Cup. Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Jhye Richardson and Jason Behrendorff are premier pace options for the side in the competition. Nathan Lyon and Adam Zampa are prominent spin options included in the World Cup squad.

2019 Cricket World Cup squad for Australia : Aaron Finch (captain), Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey (wk), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Pat Cummins, Usman Khuwaja, Nathan Lyon Jhye Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *