Australia recall Steven Smith, David Warner for T20 series against Sri Lanka and Pakistan

Middle-order Ben McDermott has been included in the Australia’s T20 squad for the upcoming home series against Sri Lanka and Pakistan. Cricket Australia made the formal announcement on 8th October. Experienced players like David Warner and Steven Smith make their comeback in the T20 squad after a long time. All-rounder Marcus Stoinis has been dropped due to his poor form with the bat this season.

In the 2019 Cricket World Cup, Stoinis failed to produce any runs with the bat and has fitness issues this season. Steven Smith’s last appearance for Australia came in the 2016 T20 World Cup group game played against India at Mohali.

Australia’s National Selector, Trevor Hohns said, “The side’s batting resources will increase with the return of Steven Smith and David Warner in the T20 squad. Smith has been a premier batsman for Australia across all three formats, while Warner will be looking to make a statement with the bat in this upcoming series against Sri Lanka.”

Hohns stated that the selection committee has go for a full-strength squad in order to make adequate preparations for T20 World Cup. Keeping in mind with the conditions in Australia, the squad selected has a nice blend of youth and experienced players for the upcoming series against Sri Lanka and Pakistan.

Billy Stanlake, Kane Richardson and Andrew Tye have been first-choice players for Australia in the T20 format. In the past two years, Stanlake has been excellent for Australia with the new-ball. The inclusion of Mitchell Starc will help Australia control the flow of runs at the back end of the innings. Pat Cummins is a world-class performer and has been included due to splendid form so far this season.

The inclusion of Ashton Turner and Ben McDermott will provide options for Australia in the middle-order for the home series against Sri Lanka. In the spin department, Ashton Agar and Adam Zampa will be options for Australia upcoming series against Sri Lanka and Pakistan.

Sri Lanka is set tour to Australia to play three-match T20I series that is slated to begin from 27th October in Adelaide. The other games will be played on 30th October and 1st November at Brisbane and Melbourne respectively.

Next will be Pakistan who will kick-start their tour with three-match T20I series starting from 3rd November in Sydney. The other games will be played in Canberra and Perth on 5th and 8th November. The side will then play two-match Test series against Australia. Brisbane and Adelaide are two venues chosen for the Test series.

Squad: Aaron Finch (captain), Ashton Agar, Ben McDermott, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith Alex Carey (wk), Pat Cummins, Glenn Maxwell, , Billy Stanlake, Mitchell Starc, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *