Bangladesh Cricket Board appoints Mominul Haque as new Test Captain

Middle-order batsman Mominul Haque has been named new Test captain of Bangladesh. The change has come as Shakib Al Hasan was banned by ICC Cricket Council for two years. The all-rounder was guilty of not reporting the approaches made by the bookie. Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has named Mahmudullah Riyad as the new T20 captain for India series.

BCB have announced the T20I and Test squad for the tour of India. Mohammad Saifuddin, who was ruled out of series, has been replaced by Abu Hider Rony. Tamim Iqbal has been replaced by wicket-keeper batsman Mohammad Mithun. Iqbal has ruled himself out of the tour due to personal reasons while Saifuddin has suffered from back injury.

In the T20 squad, Shakib Al Hasan has been replaced by Taijul Islam. The left-arm orthodox spinner made his debut in the T20 format against Zimbabwe earlier this year.

Uncapped batsman Saif Hasan has earned his maiden call-up to the Test side. The 20-year old has played 36 first class matches and scored 2217 runs at an average of 46.18. He will certainly be looking to make an impression with the bat for Bangladesh.

Pacer Al-Amin Hossain has made his comeback to the Test squad after making his last appearance in 2014. Ebadat Hossain also has been included in the squad despite being dropped after the series in New Zealand.

Liton Das will be first-choice wicket-keeper in red-ball cricket as Mushfiqur Rahim will play as a specialist batsman in the Test side.

Test squad: Mominul Haque (captain), Shadman Islam, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Mohammad Mithun, Imrul Kayes, Saif Hasan, Liton Das (wk), Mosaddek Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Naeem Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Al Amin Hossain, Ebadat Hossain.

T20I squad Mahmudullah Riyad (captain), Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Aminul Islam, Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Arafat Sunny, Mustafizur Rahman, Shafiul Islam, Abu Haider Rony, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Naim,  Al-Amin Hossain, Mohammad Mithun, Taijul Islam.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *