Bangladesh include Shafiul Islam and Nasir Hossain for upcoming Test series against Australia

Bangladesh have included fast bowler Shafiul Islam and all-rounder Nasir Hossain for the forthcoming Test series against Australia. The series will be hosted by Bangladesh as the first game will be played at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur from 27th August.

The inclusion has been made in place of  Mahmudullah and Mominul Haque who have been dropped from the squad due to their poor run of form in the format. Selectors picked Nasir Hossain as he has done well at the domestic level for the past few months.

Nasir, who burst onto the scene as a attacking batsman, eventually lost his form and was dropped from the side in 2014. He also lost his place in the Test side as well and did not play in any of the games for Bangladesh in ICC T20 World Cup 2016 played in India. Mosaddek Hossain has been Bangladesh’s preferred choice for quite a while now as the player has shown consistency with bat and ball to cement his place in the side. Mosaddek’s arrival has meant that Nasir had to wait another three years to make a return into the Bangladesh national side.

Nasir’s inclusion became imminent with the fact that Mosaddek had contracted an eye infection and was ruled out of the series. Shafiul Islam also has been rewarded for his back-to-back good performances with the ball at domestic circuit.

Bangladesh Test squad: Mushfiqur Rahim (c), Imrul Kayes, Sakib Al Hasan, Nasir Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Tamim Iqbal (vc), Liton Kumar Das, Shafiul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Soumya Sarkar, Taijul Islam, Mehedi Hasan, Sabbir Rahman Taskin Ahmed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *