BCCI announce 15-member squad for Nidahas Trophy 2018

BCCI have named their 15-man squad for the upcoming Nidahas Trophy featuring hosts Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. Indian captain Virat Kohli and wicket-keeper MS Dhoni have been given a break after grueling series in South Africa. Kohli was the star of the show with the bat as he scored over 500 runs in the six-match one-day series in South Africa.

The new-ball pair of Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jaspreet Bumrah are not included in the T20 squad in order to give them adequate rest ahead of jam-packed schedule that will see India tour England and Australia.

Shardul Thakur was impressive in the three-match T20 series against South Africa and has retained his place in the T20 squad for Nidahas Trophy. Rohit Sharma is all set to lead the side for the Nidahas Trophy. Dinesh Karthik and Rishabh Pant are wicket-keeping options for the T20 tri-series that will be played in Sri Lanka. Deepak Honda and Vijay Shankar are surprise inclusions in the side after impressive performances at the domestic level.

Chief Selector MSK Prasad said that the squad selected for Nidahas Trophy has been carefully done taking into the consideration the national side upcoming schedule for this current year. The management made suggestions that key bowlers must be adequate rest in order to be fit and available for the big series in England.

Prasad said that MS Dhoni asked for rest despite being available for selection. India will play four games in the competition featuring Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. The Nidahas Trophy is played in order to celebrate Sri Lanka 70 years of independence. India will certainly start as favorites to win the trophy despite the absence of Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni.

India’s Squad for Nidahas Trophy: Rohit Sharma (c), Mohammad Siraj, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shikhar Dhawan (vice-captain ), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, KL Rahul, Suresh Raina Manish Pandey, Axar Patel, Vijay Shankar, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *