BCCI finally announce 15-man squad for ICC Champions Trophy 2017

BCCI have finally announced India’s 15-man squad for the forthcoming ICC Champions Trophy that will begin on 1st June in England. The reigning champions will be captained by Virat Kohli as the side has not conceded a series defeat in the limited overs format since taking over the top position from MS Dhoni.

Rohit Sharma makes his return into the squad after long layoff due to injury that kept him out for atleast five months. Sharma played the tenth edition of Indian Premier League and captained Mumbai Indians to record third title against Pune in the grand finale played at Hyderabad. He will join Shikhar Dhawan at the top of the order for the big event. Dhawan was the man of moment for India with bat in the last edition of Champions Trophy played in England four years back.

Ravendra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin as spin duo are turning out to be quite a combo with the ball in hand. India will battle against old enemy Pakistan in their first game to be played at Birmingham at Edgbaston Cricket Ground on 4th June, 2017. The last time two sides met, India won the game in a one-sided affair played at the Oval.

The middle order contains of wealth of experience with Yuvraj Singh and MS Dhoni are set to produce match winning performances for the side. The duo was back at their best against England in one day series played earlier this year. Kedhar Jadhav and Manish Pandey are handful players at the end of the innings. The bowling department looks solid as Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohammad Shami are three front-line seamers with Jaspreet Bumrah and Hardik Pandya providing value and variety with the ball in hand.

The reserve players nominated in case if there is any injury are Dinesh Karthik, Suresh Raina, Kuldeep Yadav, Rishabh Pant and Shardul Thakur.

India’s ODI Squad for ICC Champions Trophy 2017: Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni (wk), Yuvraj Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jaspreet Bumrah, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ravendra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *