BCCI name 15-man Test squad for Afghanistan series

BCCI have named 15-member squad for India’s one-off test against Afghanistan to be played in the month of June. The game will be played on 14th June at M.Chinnaswamy Stadium. Virat Kohli will be rested for the series as Vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane will lead the side for the one-off game.

Kohli has recently suffered a neck injury and has ruled out of his County stint with Surrey. Uncapped Shardul Thakur has been included in the Test squad for the one-off game. Thakur has done well for India in the shorter formats of the game. Karun Nair also makes a comeback into the side after showing good form in the domestic competition. Afghanistan will make their test debut against India from 14th June.

Afghanistan has done in the shorter formats of the game and have put in decent performances in big events. The side has plenty of talent with players like Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman and Mohammad Nabi. The Afghanistan contingent has also done exceedingly well in the ongoing Indian Premier League and will be keen to impact for the national side in the five-day format.

Captain Asghar Stanikzai, Muhammad Stanikzai, and Samiulllah Shinwari are good players in the batting department. Afghanistan will keen to make an impression in their debut against India. The side has a couple of great spinners who will get a considerable amount of assistance from the pitch.

India also has named their T20 and ODI squad for the tour of Ireland and England. Virat Kohli and co. are all set to tour England to play 3 T20Is, 3ODIs, and 5 Tests.

India’s squad for one-off test against Afghanistan: Ajinkya Rahane (c), Mohammed Shami, Hardik Pandya, Cheteshwar Pujara, Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravendra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Lokesh Rahul, Karun Nair, Wriddhiman Saha,  Ishant Sharma, Shardul Thakur.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *