Benny McCarthy, Shane Getkate left out as Ireland announce final squad for T20 World Cup

Ireland announced their final 15-man squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup that will be played this month. Barry McCarthy, Shane Getkate and Graham Kennedy have failed to find a place in the squad for the T20 World Cup.

Andrew Balbirnie will lead the national side for the showpiece event that will be played in UAE and Oman. Ireland are currently participating in the ongoing UAE Summer T20 Bash competition staged in the UAE. Despite missing out on the final squad, the three players have named as reserves and will travel with the squad for the ICC T20 World Cup.

Ireland Chairman of selectors, Andrew White said that it is always going to be a difficult decision to select the final squad for the tournament like T20 World Cup. Shane Getkate had a decent outing with bat and ball in the ongoing UAE Summer T20 Bash.

The reserve players picked still have a huge role to play as they will cover for any players injured during the course of the T20 World Cup. Head Graham Ford and selectors have selected the final squad keeping in minds that conditions that will prevalent in both Sharjah and Abu Dhabi. It is interesting to see how Ireland fares in the initial round-robin matches of the competition.

Andrew Balbirnie-led unit will be looking to start their campaign with a warm-up game against Papua New Guinea on 12th October. In the round 1 of the competition, Ireland will play their first match against Netherlands. The second game will be played against Sri Lanka on 20th October and their final game will be against Namibia on 22nd October. The top-two teams from both the groups will qualify for the Super 12 of the competition.

Ireland’s final squad for ICC T20 World Cup: Andrew Balbirnie (c), George Dockrell, Andrew McBrine, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Kevin O’Brien, Harry Tector, Neil Rock, Lorcan Tucker, Ben White, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delaney, Craig Young,  Mark Adair, Josh Little

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *