Chris Gayle, Roston Chase included in West Indies ODI squad for India series

West Indies have announced 14-man squad for the upcoming three-match one-day series against India. Opening batsman John Campbell, all-rounders Kemo Paul and Roston Chase have been included in the one-day setup for the home series.

Veteran opener Chris Gayle decided not to retire from international cricket after West Indies’ disappointing World Cup campaign. He has been included in the squad for the one-day series that starts from 8th August.

Darren Bravo, Shannon Gabriel, Ashley Nurse and Sunil Ambris have been dropped from the limited-overs squad. All-rounder Andre Russell has still not fully recovered from the hamstring issue and is not picked for this series.

Chris Gayle will be looking to add another feather in his cap in this coming one-day series. Left-hander just needs 11 runs to surpass Brian Lara in order to become leading run-scorer for West Indies in one-day internationals.

Interim West Indies Coach, Floyd Reifer said that Chris Gayle brings a lot of experience and firepower to the batting lineup in limited-overs cricket. Roston Chase, John Campbell and Keemo Paul participated in the Ireland Tri-series played in Ireland but were left out of the squad for 2019 Cricket World Cup hosted by England and Wales.

The trio has been picked in order to bring stability and balance to the limited-overs squad for this series.

Earlier this season, West Indies produced exceptional cricket with the bat and ball against England and went on to draw the five-match one-day series played at home. Captain Jason Holder will be hoping that they can continue their good form in home conditions in order to gain confidence in limited-overs cricket.

The first game of the one-day series between the two teams will be played in Guyana on 8th August. The second and third game will be played at Queen’s Park Oval, Port of Spain in Trinidad.

West Indies ODI squad for India series :Jason Holder (captain), Nicholas Pooran, Roston Chase, Fabian Allen, John Campbell, Evin Lewis, Shimron Hetmyer, Carlos Brathwaite, Keemo Paul, Chris Gayle, Sheldon Cottrell, Oshane Thomas, Shai Hope, Kemar Roach

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *