Dale Steyn, AB De Villiers make their return to South Africa test squad for one-off test against Zimbabwe

South Africa is all set to their first 4-day Test against Zimbabwe that will be played on Boxing Day at Port Elizabeth. Hosts have named their 14-man squad for the one-off game against Zimbabwe. Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Kagiso Rabada and Morne Morkel are all fit and included in the squad for the game. This is for the first time since 2015 that the first choice attack for South Africa is available and fit for selection for the game.

The 14-man squad also sees AB de Villiers make his return to Test cricket. Faf du Plessis is set to lead the side for the one-off game but will have to undergo a fitness for the game. De Villiers also has suffered from back problems while du Plessis is recovering from a shoulder injury he picked during series against Bangladesh.

Linda Zondi who is the convener of selectors stated that the squad picked is based on merit with Dale Steyn and AB de Villiers making their return to the squad. South Africa have picked four seamers for the series while Keshav Maharaj has been picked as a lone spinner for the one-off game.

South Africa will also host India and Australia for the series in the coming months so playing a one-off game against Zimbabwe will give them a chance to shrug off their rustiness and get adequate practice under their belt.

South Africa’s 14-man squad: Faf du Plessis (captain), Aiden Markram, Dean Elgar, Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Temba Bavuma, Hashim Amla, Morne Morkel, Dale Steyn, Keshav Maharaj, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada, Theunis de Bruyn, AB De Villiers and Adile Phelukwayo.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *