England announce Test, ODI squads for tour of West Indies

England have announced their Test and ODI squads for the upcoming series in the West Indies. The visitors have picked unchanged squad for the series that achieved a historic whitewash in Sri Lanka.

Joe Denly also has retained his place in the Test squad despite not playing a single game against Sri Lanka. He has selected reserved opener for the three-match Test series that begins in 23rd January. Wicket-keeper Ben Foakes has retained his place in the side after doing exceedingly well in Sri Lanka. He will be first-choice wicket-keeper for England for the upcoming three-match series against West Indies.

Jonny Bairstow also made a splendid comeback in the final game of the series and notched up a spectacular ton to see England achieve a clean sweep over Sri Lanka in Sri Lanka. Left-arm orthodox spinner Jack Leach did well in his trip to the subcontinent and will certainly play alongside Adil Rashid and Moeen Ali.

England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has also announced limited-overs squad for West Indies. The side is unchanged and might be same bunch of players for the upcoming Cricket World Cup being played in England. Mark Wood and David Willey make their return to the squad for the one-day series in the Caribbean.

Joe Root and co. is scheduled to play three Tests, five one-day internationals and three T20I games against West Indies that is slated to begin from 23rd January.

England Test squad: Joe Root (c), Moeen Ali, James Anderson, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Joe Denly, Ben Foakes, Jonny Bairstow, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Keaton Jennings, Jack Leach, Adil Rashid, Ben Stokes, Olly Stone, Chris Woakes

England ODI squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *