England pacer James Anderson ruled out of the remainder of Ashes series

England premier pacer James Anderson has been ruled out of the remainder of the Ashes series. The veteran bowler sustained a calf injury during the first Ashes Test played at Edgbaston Cricket Ground in Birmingham. Anderson has missed next two Ashes Tests and was trying hard to get fit in time for the fourth Test at Manchester.

The 36-year old once again suffered a discomfort in his right calf and was effectively ruled out of the game while playing for Lancashire’s second XI at Chester Boughton Hall Cricket Club. On Friday, England and Cricket Board (ECB) issued a statement, “England pace bowler James Anderson has been ruled out of the Ashes series.”

James Anderson was bowling his ninth over for Lancashire’s second XI before he sustained a calf-injury in his right leg. He has gone through detailed assessment from the medical staff at Lancashire. England and Wales Cricket Board confirmed that the pace bowler will not be available for remaining games of the Ashes series.

Jofra Archer was slotted into the playing XI in place of injured James Anderson and has delivered impressive bowling performances in the two Ashes Test. He has picked up 13 wickets, including a six-wicket haul at Headingley Cricket Ground in Leeds.

While England suffered a comprehensive defeat in the first Ashes Test played at Birmingham, the home side made a terrific comeback to put in a strong show in the second game at Lords. All-rounder Ben Stokes produced scintillating century to help England pull off an incredible win at Headingley and square the Ashes series. With the series evenly poised at 1-1, England would have wanted Anderson to be fit for the last games of the Ashes series.

Somerset medium pacer Craig Overton has been included in the 13-man squad for the fourth Ashes Test that will be played at Old Trafford Cricket Stadium in Manchester.

Squad announced for fourth Ashes Test: Joe Root (Captain), Jofra Archer, Joe Denly, Jack Leach, Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow (wicketkeeper), Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler (wk), Sam Curran, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, Craig Overton.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *