England pick Chris Woakes, Tymal Mills for ICC T20 World Cup

All-rounder Chris Woakes and Left-arm pacer Tymal Mills have been named in England’s 15-man squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup that will be played in Oman and UAE. Talismanic all-rounder Ben Stokes is a notable absentee from the squad as he has decided to take a break from international cricket due to personal reasons. England Test Captain  Joe Root was not considered for the T20 World Cup as well.

After delivering splendid bowling performances for Sussex in the Vitality T20 Blast, Tymal Mills continued his excellent form in the inaugural Hundred for Southern Brave. His consistently good performances made quite an impression among the selectors, who decided to pick him for the T20 World Cup this year.

With Tom Curran not doing that well, Tymal Mills managed to find his name in the preliminary squad for the T20 World Cup.  2016  was the last time, Tymal Mills made his appearance for England.

All-rounder Chris Woakes was called up to the T20 squad after almost six years. Earlier this summer, Chris Woakes did play all the matches against Sri Lanka. He delivered excellent performances with the new-ball for England in the T20I series against Sri Lanka. With Jofra Archer suffering from a shoulder injury and ruled out for atleast six months, Woakes was an obvious as he has the ability to bowl well in the Powerplay overs.

Sam Curran and David Willey are notable left-arm pacers in the squad besides Tymal Mills. Willey has also done exceedingly well for England in the T20 format. Mark Wood and Chris Jordan are other notable pacers named in the 15-man squad for the T20 World Cup.

Eoin Morgan, Jonathan Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Jason Roy and Liam Livingstone are premier players in the batting department. With the conditions likely to favor the slow bowlers, Moeen Ali and Adil Rashid are the prominent spinners named in the England’s T20 squad for the World Cup. Left-arm spinner Liam Dawson has been named in the reserves besides Tom Curran and James Vince.

The side still has a lot of time to announce their final squad. Eoin Morgan and co. is scheduled to tour Pakistan to play two-match T20I series on 14th and 15th October at Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium.

England Squad for T20I World Cup: Eoin Morgan (captain), Jos Buttler (wk), Dawid Malan, Jonathan Bairstow, Jason Roy, Liam Livingstone, Sam Billings, Chris Woakes, Sam Curran, David Willey, Chris Jordan, Mark Wood, Moeen Ali, Adil Rashid, Tymal Mills.

Reserves: Tom Curran, James Vince and Liam Dawson.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *