India announce 17-man squad for the forthcoming ODI series in South Africa

India have named their 17-man squad for six-match one-day series against South Africa. Middle-order batsman Kedhar Jadhav, who missed the series against Sri Lanka due to hamstring has been included in the squad. The squad selected includes ten specialist batsmen as the announcement was made by India’s Chief selector MSK Prasad.

Mumbai pacer Shardul Thakur also has been added to the squad after not being a part of the limited-overs series against Sri Lanka. Virat Kohli will lead the side while Rohit Sharma will be his deputy for the one-day series. Mohammad Shami has been included in the squad while Umesh Yadav has not been picked for the series.

Lokesh Rahul also has not found a place in the one-day setup while an experienced player like Suresh Raina was overlooked despite clearing fitness Test. Shreyas Iyer would be keen to continue his impressive form after producing half-centuries in the three-match one-day series against Sri Lanka. Dinesh Karthik and Manish Pandey will fight for a place in the middle-order that has been India’s weak link since last one year. No one has been able to fill the void left by experienced players like Yuvraj Singh and Suresh Raina. Shikhar Dhawan will open the innings with Rohit Sharma while Virat Kohli will come in at no.3 in the one-day series. Ajinkya Rahane has been selected as reserve opener for the one-day series.

Axar Patel and Hardik Pandya are two genuine all-rounders selected by India while two spinners in Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal have retained their place due to their good show with the ball in the last few months. The first game of the six-match one-day series will be played at Kingsmead, Durban on 1st February four days after the conclusion of the third and final test played at Johannesburg.

India’s ODI squad against South Africa: Virat Kohli (captain) Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Mohammed Shami, Shardul Thakur , Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Kedhar Jadhav, Jaspreet Bumrah,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *