India announce 18-member Test squad for England series

India have announced their 18-member Test squad for the upcoming tour to England. Left-arm Chinaman Kuldeep Yadav’s impressive form for India in the limited-over series has prompted selectors to include the spinner in the Test squad. Uncapped wicket-keeper Rishabh Pant has been included in the setup. Virat Kohli and co. lost the one-day series to England but will be keen to bounce back strongly in the five-match Test series that will begin from 1st August.

Pacer Mohammad Shami has been included in the Test squad after passing the Fitness Test. Ishant Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Umesh Yadav, Jaspreet Bumrah and Shardul Thakur are the other prominent pace options for India for the five-match Test series. Jaspreet Bumrah will be available for India for the second game of the series after getting back to bowling in the nets. Uncapped Shardul Thakur has replaced Bhuvneshwar Kumar in the 18-man squad for the England series.

Dinesh Karthik has been named the first-choice keeper for the tour after Wriddhiman Saha has been ruled out of the series due to a thumb injury. Rishabh Pant might be also playing on this tour after doing well for India A side in England.

Karun Nair also has shown at the domestic circuit and has done well for India A on their trip to the UK. The middle-order batsman will replace Rohit Sharma in the Test squad. Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin are two frontline seamers for India for the upcoming five-match Test series.

The opening game of the five-match series will be played at Edgbaston Cricket Ground, Birmingham. The second game of the series will be played at Lords. The other three games will be played at Trent Bridge, Southampton, and The Oval.

India’s Test Squad against England: Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Jaspreet Bumrah,  Dinesh Karthik (wk), Rishabh Pant (wk), Cheteshwar Pujara, Karun Nair, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shikhar Dhawan, Mohammad Shami, Ravendra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Ishant Sharma, Lokesh Rahul, Murali Vijay, Jaspreet Bumrah, Shardul Thakur.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *