Ireland announce ODI and T20 squad for Zimbabwe series

All-rounder Simi Singh and middle-order batsman Shane Getkate have been included in Ireland ODI and T20 squad for the forthcoming home series against Zimbabwe. The selectors announced the squads for both the formats on 26th June (Wednesday).

Left-arm spinner George Dockrell and Barry McCarthy have been dropped from the side. The duo was a part of the squad that played two-match one-day series against Afghanistan. The side managed to level the one-day series against Afghanistan after losing all three T20 games against Afghanistan earlier this year.

The results have not gone their way even after trying Kevin O’Brien in the opening position alongside Paul Stirling. The strategy certainly worked well for the side but they haven’t been able to win games on regular basis.

The ICC World T20 Qualifiers will be played in the month of November this year in the United Arab Emirates where fourteen teams will fight it out for a place in the next World T20 that will be played in Australia in 2020.

Greg Thompson has made a comeback into the T20 squad after last making his last appearance for the national side in 2017. The 31-year old batsman will be looking to make an impact with the bat in the upcoming T20I series.
Selectors have picked the side so that the national side can prepare well and perform in the upcoming T20 World Cup Qualifier. The side will need to iron out their mistakes and maintain consistency with bat and ball.

Ireland ODI squad: William Porterfield (Captain), Shane Getkate, Kevin O’Brien, Tyrone Kane, Andrew McBrine, James McCollum, Mark Adair, Andrew Balbirnie, Tim Murtagh, Boyd Rankin, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Lorcan Tucker, Gary Wilson.

T20I squad: Gary Wilson (Captain), Kevin O’Brien, Andrew Balbirnie, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Boyd Rankin, Paul Stirling, Greg Thompson, Mark Adair, Shane Getkate, Tyrone Kane, Josh Little, Lorcan Tucker, Craig Young.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *