Kieran Powell makes a comeback into the Test squad for series against Pakistan

Kieran  Powell has been selected for upcoming series against Pakistan and makes a comeback into West Indies Test Squad after making his debut in 2014. The selectors have also picked uncapped Vishaul Singh and Shimron Hetmyer who have been rewarded for their good performances in the domestic level while Marlon Samuels and Darren Bravo have been axed from the squad.

Courtney Browne who is currently West Indies selection committee head said that young players in the squad will have a full go to express themselves and cement their place in the West Indies side for the long run. Powell has been producing runs as he scored 58 and 84 for President’s XI side that played Pakistan in the three day warm up before the test series gets officially underway on Friday.

West Indies Squad for First Test against Pakistan: Jason Holder, Jermaine Blackwood, Kraigg Brathwaite, Roston Chase, Miguel Cummins, Shannon Gabriel, Shane Dowrich (wk), Shai Hope, Shimron Hetmyer, Alzarri Joseph, Kieran Powell, Vishaul Singh and Devendra Bishoo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.