Melbourne Stars named Meg Lanning as the new captain for the coming WBBL season

Melbourne Stars has named Meg Lanning as their new captain for the upcoming edition of Women’s Big Bash League. She will take over the captaincy reins from Elyse Villani, who led the side last year.

Earlier, Meg Lanning did captained Melbourne Stars in the first two season of the competition before getting signed by Perth Scorchers.

Meg Lanning said that she is looking forward to contribute to Melbourne Stars for the coming season of Women’s Big Bash League. She said that she is excited to be playing cricket for Australia and then will be looking to do well for the Melbourne Stars in Women’s Big Bash League.

Lanning is the most notable signing made by Melbourne Stars for the coming season of Women’s Big Bash League.  All-rounder Bhavi Devchand is another signing made by Melbourne Stars. She signed her first contract with Victoria this season and previously played for teams like Western Australia, Gloucestershire and Perth Scorchers.

Lanning said that Bhavi Devchand seems to be exciting talent signed by Melbourne Stars this season.

Last year, Melbourne Stars suffered their worst ever campaign and finished bottom of the league. To add to that, Stars is the only franchise that has never played a final in Women’s Big Bash League. With coach Trent Woodhill and captain Meg Lanning running the show, Melbourne Stars will be hoping for a change in fortunes this season.

Trent Woodhill said that the franchise has signed made some notable acquisitions in order to bolster their overall squad for the coming WBBL season. He said that he appreciated the contribution of Elyse Villani as a captain of Melbourne Stars in the past 12 months.

Full squad: Meg Lanning (captain), Bhavi Devchand, Alana King, Holly Ferling Katherine Brunt, Nat Sciver, Elyse Villani, Georgia Gall, Sophie Day, Nicole Faltu, Mignon du Preez, Annabel Sutherland, Lucy Cripps, Erin Osborne, Tess Flintoff.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *