Middle-order batsman Oshada Fernando included in Sri Lanka squad for Bangladesh Tests

Sri Lanka have announced their 18-member squad for the upcoming tour of Bangladesh. Middle-order batsman Oshada Fernando makes a comeback to the Test squad after being overlooked for India tour. Pathum Nissanka is currently going through rehabilitation process after suffering from an injury during the second Test against India.

Oshada Fernando was picked by the selection committee after producing a numbers of impressive scores in domestic cricket. Uncapped top-order batsman Kamil Mishara, and left-arm pacer Dilshan Madushanka have earned their maiden call-up to the Sri Lanka’s Test squad.

Charith Asalanka, Lahiru Kumara, Dushmantha Chameera and Lahiru Thiramanne have not been picked due to various reasons. Chameera has been rested as he is one of the premier T20 bowlers for Sri Lanka at the moment.

Experienced Kasun Rajitha has made a return to the national side after almost two years. His last appearance for Sri Lanka came in a Test match played against South Africa in 2020. Uncapped Jeffrey Vandersay has been dropped despite being included in the Sri Lanka’s squad for the tour of India.

Asitha Fernando, Suminda Lakshan and Ramesh Mendis are back in the Test squad after missing previous tour of India due to injuries. Kamindu Mendis has been named as a replacement for Roshen Silva, who decided to not to tour Bangladesh due to personal reasons.

Dhananjaya de Silva, Angelo Matthews, Dinesh Chandimal, Niroshan Dickwella and Dimuth Karunaratne are experienced players included in the Test squad for the tour of Bangladesh.

Opener Dimuth Karunaratne will lead the side for the two-match Test series against Bangladesh. The selection committee has picked a full-strength side for the upcoming tour of Bangladesh.

Squad: Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Niroshan Dickwella, Angelo Matthews, Dhananjaya De Silva, Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Mendis, Oshada Fernando,  Kamindu Mendis, Kamil Mishara, Ramesh Mendis, Suminda Lakshan, Praveen Jayawickrama, Lasith Embuldeniya, Vishwa Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Chamika Karunaratne, Asitha Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.