Pakistan announce ODI squad for Australia series, Sarfaraz Ahmed gets break

Pakistan have announced their 16-member squad for the upcoming five-match one-day series against Australia. The selectors have decided to experiment and have picked uncapped players like Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Abbas, Abid Ali and Saad Ali.

Captain Sarfaraz Ahmed has been rested for the one-day series in order to avoid burnout after playing continuous cricket overt the past six months. Shoaib Malik has named interim captain for the one-day series and will lead the side against Australia.

Shadab Khan, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Fakhar Zaman and Babar Azam will not take part in the one-day series.

PCB Chief Selector Inzamam-ul-Haq said that players have been rested as they were continuously playing cricket for Pakistan across all three formats.

The premier players will take adequate in order to in best frame of mind for the upcoming Cricket World that will begin from May.

Leg-spinner Yasir Shah has made a comeback into the squad and will be looking to make an impact with the ball in this one-day series. He has been included as a replacement for Shadab Khan, who has been rested for the series.

Mohammad Hasnain has produced impressive performances for Quetta Gladiators, in the recently concluded Pakistan Super League. The 19-year old has certainly done well in the U-19 level for Pakistan and also produced quick spells throughout the competition.

Haris Sohail, Junaid Khan and Umar Akmal make their return to the limited-overs side for the one-day series. Inzamam ul Haq said that it will be good opportunity for these players to make an impact with bat and ball in the one-day series against Australia. Mohammad Rizwan will have a chance to cement his place in the World Cup squad and will need to deliver runs with the bat. He might be reserve wicket-keeper for the upcoming Cricket World Cup.

Pakistan’s ODI Squad for Australia series : Shoaib Malik (c), Saad Ali, Shan Masood, Umar Akmal, Abid Ali, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Faheem Ashraf, Haris Sohail, Imad Wasim, Imam-ul-Haq, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Abbas, Usman Shinwari, Yasir Shah

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *