Pakistan name their 16-man squad for New Zealand series.

Pakistan have named their 16-man squad for the upcoming one-day series against New Zealand in New Zealand to begin from 5th January. Ahmed Shehzad has been axed from the squad as the opener failed to produce any sort of runs in the home series against Sri Lanka played in UAE. Azhar Ali makes his return to the side while left-arm pace duo of Usman Khan Shinwari and Junaid Khan are out due to injuries and will miss the series in New Zealand.

Pakistan’s premier all-rounder Imad Wasim will also miss the series against New Zealand. Wasim has shown signs of discomfort in his knee and will go further assessment with medical staff to make his fit and available for selection on the upcoming tours. Left-arm spinner Mohammad Nawaz comes in for Imad Wasim while Aamer Yamin has been called up due to great performances at the domestic level.

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) initially made a list of 18 players that had to go through a fitness test to get picked for the series. Aamer Yamin was able to get through as Umar Amin and Sohaib Maqsood failed the fitness test. Pakistan’s Chief selector Inzamam-ul-Haq said that the squad selected is picked according to the conditions the team will face in New Zealand. Junaid Khan has advised to take six weeks off in order to recuperate from a foot injury while Aamer Yamin is named as his replacement in the side.

The 27-year old has been picked in place of injured Junaid Khan as he has done exceedingly well at the domestic circuit. Chief selector Inzamam-ul-Haq said that Sohaib Maqsood could be included in the T20 squad after being left out of the one-day setup. The first game of the five-match one-day series will be played in Wellington on January 6.

Pakistan’s ODI Squad: Sarfaraz Ahmed (c), Shoaib Malik, Babar Azam, Shadab Khan, Azhar Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Hafeez, Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Amir, Aamer Yamin, Rumman Raees, Mohammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Haris Sohail.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *