Pakistan name 16-member squad for the forthcoming series against Sri Lanka in UAE

Pakistan has announced their 16-man squad for the forthcoming series against Sri Lanka in UAE. The selection committee has picked uncapped pacer Mir Hamza, who has been rewarded for his superlative performances in the domestic circuit for the last four seasons.

The notable omissions from the squad are Mohammad Hafeez and leg-spinner Shadab Khan. Opening batsman Ahmed Shahzad also failed to find a place in the squad after his splendid performance for Pakistan in the recent T20 series against World XI. Shan Masood has made a comeback into the side and will play as an opener for Pakistan in the series. Sami Aslam is another one picked who can bat at the top of the order.

The most shocking inclusion is of off-spinner Bilal Asif who has not played that much first class cricket. He has only played three one day internationals for Pakistan. Harris Sohail and Usman Salahuddin are replacements in the batting department for the gap left behind by legendary players like Younis Khan and Misbah-ul-Haq who have retired from Test cricket earlier in May after winning the series in the Caribbean.

16-man squad for Pakistan for Test series against Sri Lanka

Azhar Ali, Yasir Shah,  Mohammad Amir, Asad Shafiq, Haris Sohail, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Usman Salahuddin, Hasan Ali, Shan Masood, Sami Aslam, Babar Azam, Mohammad Asghar, Mohammad Abbas, Bilal Asif, Wahab Riaz and Mir Hamza

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *