Sanju Samson, Shivam Dube included in the India’s T20 squad for Bangladesh series

Indian Captain Virat Kohli has been rested by the selectors for the forthcoming three-match T20I series against Bangladesh. Rohit Sharma will lead the side in the shortest format of the game. Sanju Samson, who smashed a double ton in the Vijay Hazare Trophy earned a maiden-call up to the T20 squad. All-rounder Shivam Dube has been included as like-for-like replacement for injured Hardik Pandya, who is undergoing the rehabilitation process after his lower-back surgery in London.

Left-arm orthodox Shahbaz Nadeem failed to find a place in the Test squad. India have decided to go with full-strength side for Bangladesh side. Pacer Shardul Thakur and Leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal have been made their comebacks to the T20 squad. While Thakur, who last made his international appearance in the Nidahas Trophy in 2018, has replaced Navdeep Saini in the squad. Yuzvendra Chahal was picked for West Indies tour and was overlooked for home series against South Africa.

Sanju Samson makes his return to the national side after a period of four years. The 24-year old made his debut in the T20 format against Zimbabwe in Harare in 2015.  He smashed a double century against Goa in the Vijay Hazare Trophy recently in a List A score in domestic cricket in India.

All-rounder Shivam Dube has been picked for his power-hitting abilities in the T20 format. Recently, Shivam Dube scored a century off 60 balls against Karnataka. Shivam Dube also delivered impressive performances for India A side against South Africa A.

Veteran wicket-keeper MS Dhoni has not picked by selection committee led by MSK Prasad.  It is still unclear whether Dhoni will continue to play for India at the international stage.

The opening game of the series will be played at Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi on 3rd November.

T20I Squad: Rohit Sharma(captain), Rishabh Pant(wk), Khaleel Ahmed, Shivam Dube, Shardul Thakur, Washington Sundar, Krunal Pandya, Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Sanju Samson, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, Deepak Chahar.

Test Squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Shubman Gill, Rishabh Pant, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *