South Africa announce T20I, Test squad for India series

Wicket-keeper Quinton de Kock will lead South Africa for the T20I series against India. Uncapped players like Anrich Nortje, Temba Bavuma and Bjorn Fortuin have been included in the T20 squad for the series.

Faf Du Plessis has not picked for the T20I series, but will lead South Africa for the three-match Test series against India that is slated to begin from 2nd October at Vishakhapatnam. Middle-order batsman Temba Bavuma has been named vice-captain for three-match Test series. Cricket South Africa Interim Director of Cricket Corrie van Zyl stated that Du Plessis is an integral member of the limited-overs cricket despite not being picked for the 20-over format.

Uncapped pace bowler Anrich Nortje has earned his maiden call-up to the Test side. Wicket-keeper Rudi second and bowling all-rounder Senuran Muthusamy are other players picked for India series.

Off-spinner Dane Piedt has made his comeback to the Test squad due to string of impressive performances at the domestic first-class competition. Piedt topped the bowling charts last season and picked up 54 wickets. Middle-order Zubayr Hamza has been included in the Test squad. He made his Test debut against Pakistan at Wanderers this season.

Corrie Van Zyl stated that they have cover all the bases keeping in mind the tough sub-continent conditions. After the retirements of premier players like Hashim Amla and Dale Steyn from the Test arena, it has certainly opened the door for the likes of Zubayr Hamza and Anrich Nortje to express their talent in Test cricket for South Africa.

Aiden Markam, Dale Steyn, Lungi Ngidi and Chris Morris were not picked for the T20I series against India. Bjorn Fortuin, Jon-Jon Smuts and Temba Bavuma were standout performers in the domestic T20 competition.

Squad for Test series against India: Faf du Plessis (captain), Temba Bavuma (vice-captain), Theunis de Bruyn, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Senuran Muthusamy, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Vernon Philander, Quinton de Kock, Dean Elgar, Zubayr Hamza,  Dane Piedt, Kagiso Rabada, Rudi Second.

T20I squad picked for India series : Quinton de Kock (captain), Rassie van der Dussen (vice-captain),Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Temba Bavuma, Junior Dala, Bjorn Fortuin, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Jon-Jon Smuts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *