South Africa select Morne Morkel and uncapped Heinrich Klaasen for test series against New Zealand

The selectors have announced South Africa’s test squad for the upcoming three test match series against New Zealand. Morne Morkel has been selected for the tour despite not having played a competitive so far since recuperating well from career threatening back injury. The right arm fast bowler has been out of action for almost one year. Vernon Philander is also declared fit for the series after suffering from ankle impingement. The other bowlers in the lineup are Wayne Parnell, Chris Morris, Duanne Olivier and Kagiso Rabada.AB de Villiers is also ruled out of the series as the Cricket South Africa selection committee has picked Theunis de Bruyn and Heinrich Klaasen as both the youngsters have received their maiden call-up to the test side after good performances in the Sunfoil Competition.

Klaasen was preferred choice after Dane Vilas signed a Kolpak deal to give up his international Bruyn was also included in the squad for the series against Sri Lanka but has yet to get play a game for South Africa. The first test will be played at Dunedin as two Southern Hemisphere rivals South Africa and New Zealand square off in three-match series that starts from 8th March on Wednesday.

South Africa Test squad: Faf du Plessis (c), Vernon Philander, Keshav Maharaj , Stephen Cook, Dean Elgar, Hashim Amla, JP Duminy, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Duanne Olivier, Theunis de Bruyn, Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock (wk), Heinrich Klaasen, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *