Uncapped Devon Conway, Will Young named in New Zealand ODI squad for Bangladesh series

New Zealand have named their limited-overs squad for the upcoming series against Bangladesh, starting from 20th March in Dunedin. Uncapped batting trio of Devon Conway, Daryl Mitchell and Will Young have been named in the limited-overs squad for the three-match series. Kane Williamson will miss the home series due to injury. Wicket-keeper batsman Tom Latham has been named captain of the side for ODI series.

After clearing fitness, opener Martin Guptill has been included in the ODI squad. All-rounder Colin de Grandhomme and Pacer Lockie Ferguson haven’t fully recovered from injuries and were not considered for the limited-overs series.

Last year in November, Devon Conway made his debut for New Zealand against West Indies. Left-hander smashed a scintillating unbeaten 99 in the opening game of the T20I series played against Australia. After consistently delivering notable scores for New Zealand, Conway has made into the limited-overs squad.

Will Young was also named in the ODI squad after notching two hundreds against Australia XI in 2019.

Chief Selector, Gavin Larsen, said that the likes of Devon Conway, Daryl Mitchell have done exceedingly well for New Zealand in the past couple of months. Will Young was rewarded by the selectors as he showcased his batting potential after notching two centuries for New Zealand XI.

In the pace department, the likes of Matt Henry, Trent Boult, Tim Southee and Kyle Jamieson have been included in the squad for the three-match ODI series.

With the likes of James Neesham and Daryl Mitchell as extra bowling options, New Zealand have certainly named their strongest squad for the home series against Bangladesh.

Tom Latham will play his 100th game for New Zealand when the home side lock horns with Bangladesh in Dunedin on March 20th.

New Zealand ODI squad for Bangladesh series: Tom Latham (captain & wk), Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Martin Guptill, Devon Conway, Will Young, Ross Taylor, Mitchell Santner, Kyle Jamieson, Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Matt Henry.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *