Varun Chakravarthy gets maiden call-up to India’s T20 squad for Australia series

Leg-spinner Varun Chakravarthy has earned his maiden call-up to India’s T20I squad for the upcoming tour of Australia. The 29-year old made quite an impression with the ball for Kolkata Knight Riders in the ongoing Indian Premier League.

Tamil Nadu spinner claimed his maiden five-wicket haul in a Indian Premier League game played against Delhi Capitals. Overall, Varun Chakravarthy has so far taken 12 wickets at a splendid economy rate of 7.05. He has been slotted into the squad in place of Kuldeep Yadav, who failed to make an impact with the ball this season.

Opener and Vice-captain Rohit Sharma has not been included due to hamstring injury sustained during the ongoing Indian Premier League. Lokesh Rahul has been named interim vice-captain for the forthcoming tour of Australia. Test Specialist Mayank Agarwal has been named as a replacement for Rohit Sharma in the T20I squad.

The 29-year old finished the competition with 424 runs in 11 innings at an average of 38.54 with one century and two half-centuries to his name.

Shikhar Dhawan has shown excellent form for Delhi Capitals in this year’s Indian Premier League. Left-hander became the first player to smash back-to-back centuries in the competition. With over 500 runs to his name, Shikhar Dhawan has certainly silence his critics and made a comeback into India’s T20I squad.

All-rounder Hardik Pandya has been retained and will only play as a batsman in the playing XI. Despite decent performances this season, Shivam Dube failed to find a place in the T20I squad. Pacer Deepak Chahar has been named in the T20I squad after missing India’s previous series in New Zealand. He has come in place of his Chennai Super Kings colleague Shardul Thakur.

Wicket-keeper Rishabh Pant has been dropped from the T20I squad for Australia series. Left-hander also was quite inconsistent with the bat in this year’s Indian Premier League. Sanju Samson has been included as reserve wicket-keeper.

With Manish Pandey and Shreyas Iyer doing well in IPL, Mumbai’s Suryakumar Yadav failed to find a place in the T20I squad.

T20I Squad for Australia series : Virat Kohli (captain), Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, Lokesh Rahul (wk and vice-captain), Sanju Samson (wk), Shreyas Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Shami Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, Varun Chakravarthy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *