West Indies announce squads for Afghanistan series, Pollard to lead side in ODIs and T20s

West Indies have announced their squads for all three formats for the upcoming series against Afghanistan in India. Uncapped players like Hayden Walsh and Brandon King have earned maiden call-ups to the national side due to splendid performances delivered in this year’s Caribbean Premier League.

Opening batsman Brandon King and Leg-spinner Hayden Walsh have been included in the T20 and ODI squads for the series against Afghanistan.

Batting all-rounder Kieron Pollard has been named as ODI and T20I captain for the upcoming series against Afghanistan. Lendl Simmons and wicket-keeper batsman Dinesh Ramdin make their comeback into the T20 Squad for the Afghanistan series. The duo did exceedingly for their franchises in this year’s Caribbean Premier League.

Brandon King was the standout performer for Guyana Amazon Warriors in this year’s Caribbean Premier League. The 24-year old scored 496 runs to see Guyana register eleven victories on the trot.

On the other hand, Hayden Walsh was instrumental in helping Barbados Tridents win their second CPL title. Leg-spinner bowled well and finished as leading wicket-taker in the tournament. He claimed 22 wickets in 9 matches to earn up maiden call-up to the national side.

All-rounder Romario Shepherd produced decent performances in the Caribbean Premier League and is named in the limited-overs squad.

Meanwhile, Carlos Brathwaite has been dropped from ODI and T20 squads. All-rounder struggled to produce runs with the bat in the past couple of years. Since October 27, Brathwaite scored 289 runs in 21 matches at an average of 20.64. He scored one century and one half-century during this period. His performances in the shortest format of the game were not upto the mark for West Indies. Since October 2017, Brathwaite could only 115 runs in 19 T20 matches at an average of 9.58. His bowling was not that good as well as he averaged 39.15 during the last two years.

Off-spinner Sunil Narine has been overlooked despite delivering decent performances for West Indies in the T20 series played against India earlier this season. Veteran opener Chris Gayle has been dropped following string of low scores against India in the one-day series played this year.

In red-ball cricket, Jason Holder will lead the side for series against Afghanistan. Darren Bravo, who did not score against India in the two-match Test series has been dropped. Shamarh Brooks and Sunil Ambris have been included in the Test squad for Afghanistan series. Alzarri Joseph and Jomel Warrican make their return to the side.

West Indies will take on Afghanistan in a three-match T20I series that will be played in India. All matches for all three formats will be played at Bharat Ratna Sri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Stadium in Lucknow. The T20 matches will be played on 5th, 7th and 9th November. The conclusion of T20 series will see West Indies take on Afghanistan in three-match ODI series. The games will be played on 13th, 16th and 18th November. Both teams will then lock horns in a one-off Test to conclude the tour.

T20I squad: Kieron Pollard (captain), Nicholas Pooran, Evin Lewis, Brandon King, Shimron Hetmyer, Sherfane Rutherford, Jason Holder, Sheldon Cottrell, Dinesh Ramdin, Kesrick Williams, Lendl Simmons, Fabian Allen, Hayden Walsh Jr., Khary Pierre, Alzarri Joseph

ODI squad: Kieron Pollard (captain), Shai Hope, Evin Lewis, Shimron Hetmyer, Sunil Ambris, Jason Holder, Hayden Walsh Jr., Khary Pierre, Nicholas Pooran, Brandon King, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Keemo Paul, Romario Shepherd, Alzarri Joseph

Test squad: Jason Holder (captain), Shai Hope, John Campbell, Kraigg Brathwaite, Shimron Hetmyer, Sunil Ambris, Jomel Warrican, Shamarh Brooks, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich, Rahkeem Cornwall, Kemar Roach, Keemo Paul, Alzarri Joseph

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *