West Indies name T20, ODI squads for tour of India

Following West Indies’ defeat at the hands of Afghanistan in three-match T20I series played in India, wicket-keeper batsman Shai Hope and pacer Alzarri Joseph have been dropped from the squad for upcoming T20 series against India. Hope, who come in as a replacement for wicket-keeper Dinesh Ramdin played a solitary T20 game against Afghanistan and scored a half-century.

Wicket-keeper Shai Hope has been named vice-captain for the limited-overs side and will act as a deputy to Kieron Pollard in the upcoming three-match one-day series that is slated to begin from 15th December. Nicholas Pooran has been named in the T20I squad after missing the previous series against Afghanistan due to tampering the ball. He is scheduled to make his return to the side for the second T20I of the series against India.

Bowling all-rounder Fabian Allen has recovered from injury in the series against Afghanistan. Allen has been named in the T20 squad while wicket-keeper Dinesh Ramdin is fit after suffering a hamstring injury during Afghanistan series.

Head Coach Phil Simmons said that the squad has been picked in order for West Indies to make adequate preparations for the next year’s T20 World Cup. The side will be looking to do well in this three-match series against India. It will be good opportunity for West Indies to turn their fortunes around in the T20 format.

Selectors have named unchanged limited-overs squad after Kieron Pollard and co. completed a 3-0 whitewash over Afghanistan in the three-match series.

ODI Squad for  India series : Kieron Pollard (captain), Sunil Ambris, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Evin Lewis, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd,  Jason Holder, Shai Hope (wk), Keemo Paul, Khary Pierre, Hayden Walsh Jr.

T20 Squad for India series : Kieron Pollard (captain), Keemo Paul, Brandon King, Evin Lewis ,Fabian Allen, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer, Sherfane Rutherford, Lendl Simmons, Jason Holder, Khary Pierre, Nicholas Pooran, Dinesh Ramdin, Kesrick Williams, Hayden Walsh Jr.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *